Create a free Industrial Equipment News account to continue

Acosta Lists Apprenticeship Task Force

The Task Force includes companies, trade and industry groups, educational institutions, and labor unions.


Yesterday, U.S. Secretary of Labor Alexander Acosta, following an executive order from President Donald J. Trump’s, announced the members of the President's Task Force on Apprenticeship Expansion.  

The Task Force includes companies, trade and industry groups, educational institutions, and labor unions. It's charged with identifying strategies and proposals to promote apprenticeships, especially in sectors where apprenticeship programs are insufficient. 

The Task Force on Apprenticeship Expansion includes:  

  • Chair – Secretary Alexander Acosta, U.S. Department of Labor 
  • Vice-Chair – Secretary Betsy DeVos, U.S. Department of Education
  • Vice-Chair – Secretary Wilbur Ross, U.S. Department of Commerce
    • Michael Bellaman, President and CEO, Associated Builders and Contractors 
    • Joshua Bolten, President and CEO, Business Roundtable
    • Walter Bumphus, President and CEO, American Association of Community Colleges
    • Wesley Bush, Chairman, CEO and President, Northrup Grumman
    • The Honorable Dennis Daugaard, Governor, South Dakota
    • Emily Stover DeRocco, Founder & CEO, E3 Engage Educate Employ
    • Cari Dominguez, Director, Manpower Inc.
    • Thomas J. Donohue, President and CEO, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
    • Montez King, Executive Director, National Institute for Metalworking Skills
    • Andrew Liveris, Chairman and CEO, Dow Chemical Company
    • Katherine Lugar, President and CEO, American Hotel and Lodging Association
    • Douglas J. McCarron, General President, United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America
    • Sean McGarvey, President, North America’s Building Trades Unions
    • Marc H. Morial, CEO, National Urban League
    • John Ratzenberger, workforce training advocate
    • The Honorable Kim Reynolds, Governor, Iowa
    • Mark B. Rosenberg, Board of Directors, Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities
    • Joseph Sellers Jr., General President, International Association of Sheet Metal, Air, Rail and Transportation Workers
    • Dawn Sweeney, President and CEO, National Restaurant Association
    • Jay Timmons, President and CEO, National Association of Manufacturers
More in Regulation